The Town Bus Ride

After my meeting with the kids at Thingaloor village (click here) and my visit to the Moon temple, I boarded the town bus to return to Kumbakonam town. I shared my seat with a couple of school kids (8th graders) in the bus.  After some casual talk, the kids began discussing the Japanese tsunami which had happened earlier that day. I was a little shocked to note that kids in these remote parts knew about it. When I inquired them as to how they knew about it, they told me that their school master gives them a piece of world news every day for discussion and thinking. They told me that their village schoolmaster has a television (that’s a luxury in their village) and would share important world happenings with them on a daily basis. They explained to me that the earthquake was very serious and was 8.9 on the Richter scale. They went on explaining what a Richter scale was and how it is related to a field called seismology. Great teachers do know their way of getting the students to go beyond their books and 4 walls and I can only curse my bad luck that I was unable to meet this teacher. I asked them as to what they would do to help them. They got thinking for a moment and replied that the Japanese are welcome to come over to their village and stay with their families until the water recedes there. When I asked them as to whether they would have the space to stay in their houses, they replied that they, along with their fathers can build new huts for them on a vacant patch of land in their village for them and would be glad to share their meal with them. They even offered to take the Japanese kids to their village school to study along with them so that they wouldn’t miss their lessons. The bus reached their village then and they had to get off the bus. That was one amazing Friday evening for me.

Published in: on March 30, 2011 at 19:55  Comments (1)  
Tags: , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://eshwaranv.wordpress.com/2011/03/30/the-town-bus-ride/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. yes i too aspire to meet those teachers!

    hope we can talk with them. at the same keep mum before that we are bad those days when we study :(

    you did a wonderful converse because i used to exchanged words like this during my travel too along the side of Thirumanoor some time(year) back!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

