Learning Objectives on Paper and in Practice

I have designed a number of e-learning modules for school kids and I usually devote special time and care in highlighting the learning objectives. I also had a chance to witness many presentations and the learning objectives slides are either skipped or they are read out to the learners in a rather listless manner. I was a little annoyed to see the slide which was written with so much care receiving so the little attention. My learning objectives slide looked something like this:

Learning objectives on paper

I discovered that my learning objectives looked as they are supposed to—on paper. These learning objectives appear to be more like instructions. This slide seems to have an element of restriction attached to it which automatically disconnects the learner from the topic.

I feel that such bulleted lists of learning objectives should be for the teachers’ eyes only. Using such bulleted lists in class not only wastes time, but also leave the students clueless of what they are about to encounter for the rest of the class.

Students can be presented with the same learning objectives in a different way such that this slide actually helps them to connect themselves with the presentation. Mind mapping is one of the techniques which I feel, is an excellent tool for presenting learning objectives. I have observed that these maps improve knowledge retention and promote appropriate recollection and application of the acquired knowledge. The advantage with mind mapping is that it can also be used in classrooms which lack technology. These maps can be sketched on flip charts, blackboards, etc. I have presented the same set of learning objectives as a mind map here:

Learning Objectives in Practice

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://eshwaranv.wordpress.com/2010/12/28/learning-objectives-on-paper-and-in-practice/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Such a simple idea but so effective! I look forward to trying this out next term. Thanks

    • Glad you liked it! Do let me know how your students respond to this.

  2. Nice Blog Vythee!!!

    May be we should try this strategy in some of the courses we do…

    • Of course. I feel that visuals will have better impact than bulleted lists on learners. Thanks for visiting my blog. We can try something similar to this for adult learners too.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

